May prayer calendar

Tuesday, May 1 (Asian Heritage Month)

Give thanks for the gifts Asian culture and heritage brings to Canada and the church.

Wednesday, May 2

Give thanks for the new growing season and pray for ministries with gardening programs.

Thursday, May 3

Pray for the Women’s Missionary Society Council, as they meet to learn, to share, and to conduct business that affects the whole WMS.

Friday, May 4

Pray for all the Presbyterian camps as they prepare for their summer lodgers — may they be filled to capacity.

Saturday, May 5

Pray for our young people as they travel to Nicaragua as part of the Youth in Mission program.

Sunday, May 6

Pray for our mission partners in Canada and around the world, supported through gifts to Presbyterians Sharing.

Monday, May 7

Pray for the candidates for ministry and for the guidance counsellors who will spend time engaged in dialogue about calling and discernment during Guidance Conference.

Tuesday, May 8

Strengthen the hearts of Indigenous women and men in Guatemala as they work with PWS&D partners to defend their sacred land against mining incursions.

Wednesday, May 9

Pray for those preparing for Vacation Bible Schools and Sports Ministry Camps this summer. Ask that God blesses them with an abundance of resources, volunteers and children.

Thursday, May 10

Pray for the Government of Canada as it seeks ways to adopt and implement the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.

Friday, May 11

Pray for our Canada Youth international visitors from around the globe as they await their visas from our government so they may join us in Canada this summer.

Saturday, May 12

Pray for Ms. Karen Yarrow, convenor of the Minister Committee for the presbytery of Kingston.

Sunday, May 13

Give thanks for the leadership of our Chief of Defence Staff, General Jonathan Vance, and his Chief Warrant Officer, Kevin West. Pray that God grants them courage as they continue to lead those who serve in the Canadian Armed Forces.

Monday, May 14

Please pray for the Woman of Faith Awards Committee as they work hard to prepare for the next National Presbyterian Women’s Gathering in 2020.

Tuesday, May 15 (International Day of Families)

Thank God for the love we have. Pray that we learn to love more and more, and ask that the fullness of God’s love and grace shines bright today.

Wednesday, May 16

Pray for Presbyterian camps in the process of hiring staff and preparing for another summer of sharing God’s love with children.

Thursday, May 17

Give thanks for young adults and pray that our churches will be places where they can grow in faith.

Friday, May 18

Pray for village health workers in Afghanistan who are helping new mothers access post-natal care and learn about nutrition and hygiene through a PWS&D project.

Saturday, May 19

Jesus calls us to care for our neighbours, but often this is extremely challenging. Help us, Lord, to look at all people as our neighbours and care for each as we should.

Sunday, May 20 (Healing and Reconciliation Sunday)

Pray for the continued efforts of individuals and communities in responding to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s 94 Calls to Action, released in 2015.

Monday, May 21

Remember the PCC national staff as they manage the many aspects of planning the 2018 General Assembly.

Tuesday, May 22

We are called in our lives to love, follow and trust God. Pray God helps us to honour that call every day.

Wednesday, May 23

Pray for PWS&D partners in Ghana as they empower people living with disabilities to develop the skills needed to fully participate in life and support themselves and their families.

Thursday, May 24

Pray that we hear and choose to follow the voice of God so that we may be led into our inheritance of grace and purpose.

Friday, May 25

Pray for commissioners to the General Assembly as they prepare to discern the mind of Christ for the church at the upcoming 2018 General Assembly.

Saturday, May 26

Pray for those in need of healing today. Give thanks for God’s willingness to restore us.

Sunday, May 27

Pray for community, family, friends, strangers and companions who walk with us on our journey.

Monday, May 28 (National AccessAbility Week)

Pray that the church may be a home where everyone feels welcomed and cherished as God’s children, and that we bear witness to Jesus’ ministry of inclusion.

Tuesday, May 29

Pray that God shows us how to put our faith into action, and for the strength to live by that faith so we may be God’s hands and feet in the world.

Wednesday, May 30

Let us pray for those who are facing a challenging decision in life. Give them the patience to await our God’s all-encompassing grace and care.

Thursday, May 31

We are all sinners who fall short of God’s glory, whoever we are or wherever we come from. Help us forgive each other and ourselves. Help us to practice the virtue of love.